top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEthan Li-Zhen Kuo

Week 3: Habits of Mind (Be prepared for me to get all philosophical)

  • Curiosity – the desire to know more about the world

    • I believe that our ideas evolve because of curiosity. Our human need to know more about the world is what pushes us toward something new. We may not always move towards the right direction, but there is no change without curiosity.


  • Openness – the willingness to consider new ways of being and thinking in the world

    • Just like curiosity, there is no change without openness. The next step to understanding others is to be open to the idea that you are wrong. I think these week we saw that it is very hard for many men to accept that they might not be right about proper masculinity. Only once our society opens itself to what could be, will it be ready to start changing.


  • Engagement – a sense of investment and involvement in learning

    • This is something that I have a lot of right now. All the new things that I am experiencing feed into this excitement and wonder for college. The excitement for something new every week keeps me working hard and late. I just hope that I can keep it up.


  • Creativity – the ability to use novel approaches for generating, investigating, and representing ideas

    • Creativity is a strange thing. In my experience it comes and goes. It's not always there if I'm interested in something. And sometimes, even at its craziest, it is at its most effective.


  • Persistence – the ability to sustain interest in and attention to short- and long-term projects

    • This is something I hope that once I attain, I will never lose. I find that when I get excited about something and try to chase it, unless strongly incentivized, I will lose interest. Part of me is scared that I will lose my passion for science and my mission of sustainable energy. Until then, I am committed to the dream.


  • Flexibility – the ability to adapt to situations, expectations, or demands

    • This is something I had to do recently. For the Beauty and The Beast project, I didn't watch the movie, sort of. This week, I was catching up on 3 weeks worth of work for Physics and Chemistry, so I put writing on the back burner. Little did I know that I was supposed to watch and annotate a 2 hour movie. Luckily for me I know all the lyrics of almost every song, I know the plot, and I have analyzed it before(in my head). I used my great love for the movie and prior knowledge to craft a well thought out paragraph and set of annotations. Partly luck, but partly flexibility, I adapted to my circumstances.


  • Responsibility – the ability to take ownership of one’s actions and understand the consequences of those actions for oneself and others

    • This week I took responsibility for my past actions and paid the price. I fell behind on work from previous weeks, so I spent all week catching up. I may have not seen my friends all week and gone a little crazy, but I'm proud and satisfied of my hard work.


  • Metacognition (reflection) – the ability to reflect on one’s own thinking as well as on the individual and cultural processes used to structure knowledge

    • I think this week has been one of hard work and reflection. Not only have I had to reflect on how I schedule my weeks, but I have to think about deep topics. What does it mean to be a man? How strict do I have to be with myself when it comes to being a good man? Somedays I wonder things will ever change and if men will change. Then I remember that it starts with me. If I can make difference in my life, I can surely make a difference in others.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page