top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEthan Li-Zhen Kuo

Self Assessment: Where I'm starting... (strap in, this is gonna be a hard time for all of us)


Hello everyone! My name is Ethan Kuo, and I'm a 1st year student at the University of California, Irvine. This will likely be the first of many blog posts to come. I hope you like what you're going to read. I love food, movies, dancing, and exercise, so I'll probably reference that a lot.


The last English class I took was Asian American Literature. I'm not going to lie, I don't remember much about that class. What I do remember is that there is a rich history of Americans in the U.S. and that our story is one of immigration, struggle, and hard work. I also learned that the town I grew up in was a bubble. I have not seen a lot of racism in my life, and that is because of my old environment. It's sad to say, but I have expectations that the world won't be as kind as it was when I was a young kid.


As a writer and a communicator I believe that I struggle. I often have a hard time reading and comprehending text, so I often miss the main point of articles and passages. I also have a hard time phrasing things because writing is not a direct translation of speech; I cannot type what I would say to a person. Despite these weaknesses, I would say that my basic punctuation is good and my outlining is solid. We will see if that is true throughout this term.


Language and Grammar Diagnostic Score: 70; I believe that this score is representative of my skill as a reader and writer. I had a lot of trouble with anything that had to do with reading and analyzing. I haven't learned many skills for analyzing, so a lot of the questions were on new topics. I also have a very hard time reading, so I made a lot of mistakes on the reading problems because I kept misinterpreting text.


The focus of this class is develop skills to make me a better communicator. Such skills are; reading with purpose and communicating effectively via text.

In this class we will have 3 assignments a week, 3 zooms a term, and a reflection at the end of the week. Best of all, we have 50-100 pages of reading, luck me...

According to our Grade contract, in order to succeed in this class, I must attend zooms, conference with teach, and be collaborative; I must have a presence in this class. I also have to keep up standards by: Meeting the minimum requirements, sustaining effort, making revisions, and proof reading. Most important of all, I must be honest.







85 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


yjcervan
Jan 18, 2021

Hello Ethan,

I think the "bubble town" you grew up in was good that way your child self did not experience harsh things such as racism. Now that you have been exposed to a different environment you will see more things, don't be concerned with the world being unkind, enjoy the good it can offer you.

Like

yuzhenl2
Jan 17, 2021

Hi Ethan!

Referring to your experience about Asian American Literacy, I believe that the course might be fun and exploring. This 39A course is well developing our communicator's skill. Hoping we all going well during this quarter.

Like

tianaig
Jan 17, 2021

Hi Ethan

Thank you for sharing your writing experience! As we grow up, we can definitely see more things around us. Many matters we used to perceive as simple become complicated and blow our minds.

-Tianai

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page